top of page

WORK EXPERIENCE (17/06/16)

Sorry for not blogging all week! I've been at McLaren GT all week for work experience! And by golly was it awesome! So instead of waking up ridiculously early on Monday morning, I woke up at 7.30 and left an hour later. The ethos, if you will, is 'Turning road-cars into racing/sprint/GT4 cars. Now. Back to my day, on Monday, I worked in storage, which is where all the small tools and parts are kept. The day consisted of:

A tour of McLaren GT

Health, Safety, and other paperwork

Filling a van, which would go to Le Mans (24 Hours) Collecting parts to build an engine,

A bit of flat packing (3 boxes)

Lunch :)

Pressing some buttons to work a Lazer

and then counting some parts,

apart from the final one I think storage was generally Ok.

It was in storage where I made a friend called Robert (Yes, he is an adult.)

To end the day off I sat in a car which had caught fire at a race. (The engine and the rear fascia were a goner) Not only this, but I was allowed to steer it. (they had to move it from one place to another)

Then I went home at 4.55pm

Tuesday

Tuesday was much the same as Monday in waking up.

Tuesday I was in 'Engine Build' which consisted of:

Learning: Suck (in air), Squeeze (compress), Bang (the explosion) Blow (that's yo powa BRUV!!!!). The easiest way to remember this is S.S.B.B two. That's how a four stroke engine works. I remember it in a 'different' way (Teehee)

Most of the day I was measuring Shims. (Precision Shims, for you mechanics out there!)

I also sanded an item.

Tim was in charge of this area.

Wednesday

Wednesday...guess what? Was the same wake up procedure! So on Wednesday I met James Young (There are 5 different James' in McLaren GT)

in the 'Workshop' and at the start he had not a lot I could do, because it was hard, dirty, work.

So I asked him a few questions here and there...it turns out he didn't have the easiest of childhood/pasts. So. Onto the happy stuff. I enjoyed getting to know and working for James. One of the more 'fun' days of this weeks work experience. Added to this I got to sit in the 'tub' (early stages of building a car) and remove some sticky stuff. I do not know what. To end it all off I witnessed a car at the end of its life.A man turned the engine on...and the car vaped the hell out of itself!

(The tub)

(Imagine this amount of smoke, Coming out of an engine!)

Thursday

Thursday...No need for an Intro

On Thursday I was in Design, which is a less fancy way of saying 'Computer Aided Design'. They were all pretty busy. Ian, who was in charge of this department, said that If I got bored, which I was, I could go down to stores/storage. After looking at various McLaren parts using their C.A.D software it was lunch time. After lunch I did more work with James. But before that, I met another 'friend' Bas. A Dutch man. I helped him unload the truck which had recently been to a race meeting. After that I went to Storage, put some parts away for Robert. Robert had to go, so he handed me over to James. It was at this time I replaced, I think 2, brake disks.

(McLaren are SOO nice. On Friday they gave me this)

Friday.

Thank Goodness It's Friday. What a week I have had.

Today I was in engineering, well...Not really... It was AACP (Analysing A Car's Performance)

As it was the Azerbaijan Grand Prix Friday Practice 1 & 2 that day (today) I was allowed to multi-task. What A.A.C.P involves is finding the highest temperature in different parts of the car (For Example: The Coolant, The Right Left Brake and ect. Baku didn't take long to sweep it's first victim as Daniel Ricciardo lost the rear end and Bumped into the wall. The right rear wheel was a rip off (badoom tish!) but apart from that everything was ok. I hope you all had a good week. Smile. The weekend is here.


bottom of page